meatloaf that moos and clucks (recipe included)

IMG_0374This week I tried something a little new. I wanted some good meat, something that wouldn’t be run of the mill and would cause me to gain weight or add to my toxicity levels 🙂

Then I stumbled upon this guy. Cluck’nMoo Burgers. Grass fed cows and chickens grown without the use of antibiotics and hormones. The man at the grocery store that it tastes more like beef than poultry. Perfect for a meatloaf experiment, then!

Before I tell you about my meatloaf adventure and my basic recipe, let me just say that I am no good at making sides. My husband and I had to have a very serious discussion about how “a side would be nice, baby, or even a salad with the main dish.” He’s always so supportive and helpful about my cooking, so it was easy to listen to him on this point. I’m working on it.

Working with the meat was just like working with ground beef. I was a little extra cautious while touching things in the kitchen because of the chicken involved. Additionally, I bought a thermometer when I bought the beef, so I was ready to cook the meatloaf to the optimum 165* for the cluck part of the moo patty.  Here’s my Meatloaf Recipe:

Meatloaf (basic recipe):

For the meatloaf:

  • 1.5-2 pounds of ground meat (beef, turkey, or beef/chicken!)
  • 1 onion chopped fine. I usually use a yellow onion, but white would work fine. I LOVE my food processor at times like this.
  • 1/2 cup of Italian bread crumbs. You could use other varieties (like panko), but beware that you will be losing a lot of flavor that’s found in the Italian bread crumbs. Compensate for that flavor with spices if you choose to do this.
  • 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup of parsley (fresh chopped or dried)
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 2-3 cloves of chopped garlic, but we really like garlic. Use your best judgement, you know how they get smaller as you go through the bulb
  • 2 eggs, beaten

Preheat oven to 350*. Combine ingredients into bowl, getting hands involved, and work until all is incorporated. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil or use a loaf pan. I typically mold a loaf directly onto a baking sheet.

For the glaze:

  • 1/3 cup of ketchup
  • 1 tablespoon of brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of mustard, use a spicy deli variety for some kick!
  • generous dash of worcestershire sauce 

[The last time we made this glaze it was amazing! I have no idea how my husband did it, but I’m pretty sure he went heavier on the mustard and worcestershire sauce than on the ketchup.]

Put 1/2 of the glaze on the top of the loaf and bake at 350* for one hour. Especially when using a kind of poultry meat, make sure that the inside temperature is at least 365*. Serve with the other half of the glaze.

IMG_0378

Check it out, y’all! Do you see what’s on that plate? Not one, but TWO sides! I made hand-mashed potatoes with adorable little red potatoes, parmesan cheese, and garlic, and I made mac & cheese, of the organic variety with the cute little bunny. Can we say, “Comfort food!” We then had a little mini food coma, watched a couple episodes of House, MD, and then went to bed to read. Good times.

 

Question Time: when have you used ingredients out of your comfort zone? Do you have special tips for meatloaf?

 

Blessings,

Kate

Thoughts? Questions? Quips?

